Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation

UK Property Investment news and comments from Mark Harrison of YourPropertyExpert.com

How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer

Posted by markharrison on January 10, 2011

An answer I gave to a question on Quora asking how to buy property with no money down. My answer on Quora was related to the US market – this version is slightly tweaked for the UK.

 

Option 1: Vendor finance. You get the people selling you the property to lend you the shortfall between the price you are paying, and the mortgage you can get. Obviously, this means finding a vendor who is both in a financial position to do so, and willing to!

Option 2: Investor finance. You build up relationships with people who trust you to put together deals, and they lend you the shortfall (deposit.) The rates these people would charge you, though, are typically much higher than bank lending for the same amount (in the UK, typically 1-2% per month, payable monthly.)

Either way involves you assuming a lot of risk, and only works if either you are letting the property in a way that generates sufficient cashflow to pay off both sets of lenders, or if you have enough cashflow to make such payments yourself.

Either way also involves careful legal advice.

For Option 1, you also need to either directly source properties, or build relationships with estate agents who are comfortable to put a vendor-finance offer to a vendor. Most UK estate agents have no experience with this at all.

For Option 2, you will, obviously, need to source prospective investors willing to put down the cash. It is generally a good idea to build up relationships with such people before you find your deal, so that you can move quickly once you do.

14 Responses to “How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer”

  1. 2XCYCLE said

    2XCYCLE…

    How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer « Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation…

  2. Cloud Software…

    [...]How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer « Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation[...]…

  3. make money…

    How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer « Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation…

  4. This includes lot of information regarding the buy property needs which have made my work easy .

  5. Angkasa Raya…

    [...]How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer « Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation[...]…

  6. double your money today…

    [...]How do I buy property with no money down – the 30 second answer « Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation[...]…

  7. It is perfect time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this put up and if I may I wish to recommend you few fascinating issues or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article. I desire to learn more issues about it!

  8. I like the valuable info you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am slightly certain I’ll be told plenty of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

  9. Appreciating the hard work you put into your

    site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s nice to come

    across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same old rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your

    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  10. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a

    team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog

    provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

  11. I’d must examine with you here. Which isn’t one

    thing I often do! I take pleasure in studying a put up that may make individuals think. Also, thanks for

    allowing me to remark!

  12. This web site is known as a stroll-

    by for the entire info you wanted about this and didn’t
    know who to ask. Glimpse here, and also you’ll

    undoubtedly uncover it.1
    There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made

    sure nice factors in options also.

  13. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon
    this I’ve discovered It

    positively helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a

    contribution & help different customers like its aided me. Great

    job.

  14. siddhart said

    great blog…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

