Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation

UK Property Investment news and comments from Mark Harrison of YourPropertyExpert.com

Car goals – do I like driving?

Posted by markharrison on September 1, 2006

I’m currently on my second Bentley (a 1990 Turbo R), which is a car that I have mixed feelings about:

+ It puts a smile on my face whenever I drive it

+ It goes way faster than anything that big has a right to

+ Bentleys are driven by young men, Rolls Royces are driven by old me

+ It puts about 2 1/2 tonnes of metal between me and anything that hits me – this was an issue in 2004, when someone doing about 100mph drove into the back of me – the first Bentley (a 1987 Turbo R) was driveable, but written off, mainly on the basis that replacement bumpers (fenders) and side panels are phenomenally expensive, and the insurance company decided it would be cheaper if they let me buy another one.

– It goes way faster than the cars with the flashing blue lights are happy with

Yes, we can safely assume from this that I have been clocked in a 30mph zone doing 39mph. I didn’t realise it was a 30mph zone, but that’s no defence.

Insurance is going to go up a lot, which makes we wonder whether I want a car to drive, or a car in which to be driven…

… like a 1970s Rolls Royce Phantom VI. Yes, from a dealer they’d cost about £80,000, but a private sale second-hand would come in at about £60,000. Now, I could spend that kind of money on a new Jaguar! Only 374 of them were ever made, so it would also be buying a bit of history. The thing is SO big that I’d never want to drive it myself, which means either pressing Dona (my splendid assistant) into service as a chauffeur, or taking on yet more expense. (On the plus side, I could use the time in the back to work or indeed sleep.)

So, do I want a car that is a blast to drive, or a car that is outrageously nice for passengers…

… and as ever, Mary has the ideal solution – set a goal. When you achieve that goal, get the Rolls, and have both. General target is to build one of the joint venture businesses to a sell-off value of about half a million each, then flog the thing and spend some of the cash on the Roller. Any offers?

3 Responses to “Car goals – do I like driving?”

  1. Stacie said

    Hi! Quick question that’s completely off

    topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when

    browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that

    might be able to correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.

    With thanks!

  2. Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was

    wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have
    to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have

    no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with

    experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  3. As a Newbie, I am continuously searching online for
    articles that can

    benefit me. Thank you

Leave a Reply

 
