Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation

UK Property Investment news and comments from Mark Harrison of YourPropertyExpert.com

Club Entrepreneur is really motoring

Posted by markharrison on December 13, 2007

Billy Schwer (right) and Mark Harrison

Some months ago, I went to the first meeting of London’s Club Entrepreneur, and had quite a fun time. However, I’m trying to schlep into London less and less as I get older, so I’d not been.

As it happened, though, I had a meeting in Baker Street yesterday afternoon, so call Tamkin Riaz to see whether he had an event running. Tamkin told me that the Club’s London meeting was that evening, and told me that the keynote speaker was Billy Schwer. Billy won the IBO light-welterweight belt in 2001. That much I knew.

What I’d not really appreciated until last night was that Billy is an entrepreneur as well as a sportsman, and that the discipline, determination and desire required to get to the number one in the world in a sport are very similar to the attributes requrired for growing a business. The last time I heard a professional sportsman give a talk was about 15 years ago (and it was Will Carling!) Billy seems, shall we say, more of a businessman than Will, and despite the fact that I’ve always had more interest in Rugby than Boxing, found him a far more interesting speaker!

Tamkin Riaz and Billy Schwer Anyway, photos of Billy and me, and of Billy and Tamkin attached (click through to get higher-resolution versions of Flickr.) It’s fairly obvious, even if you’d never seen any of us before, which one is the real boxer, and which wouldn’t actually last 5 seconds🙂

If you’re interested in joining Club Entrepreneur, then I’d say do – The initial level of membership is free (giving access to various business-building resources, and deeply discounted tickets to their events.) There’s another level of membership that gives free tickets to all events, but I’ve never felt under any pressure to “upgrade from free.”

Click here for more information about the Club

Leave a Reply

 
