Negotiation, Negotiation, Negotiation

UK Property Investment news and comments from Mark Harrison of YourPropertyExpert.com

Eight things which don’t make sense about me

Posted by markharrison on March 6, 2008

I was tagged by Nicholas Butler to discuss eight random things about myself. As I understand it, the idea is to write about the stuff that wouldn’t normally have any relevance to my blog, so here goes.

  1. I was stone deaf as a child from the age of about 4 onwards, and started school lipreading rather than being able to hear. Finally, I hit the spot on the waiting list, and had an operation, and have been able to hear since, but being stone deaf during my formative years left me with a slight speech impediment to this day (As I say out loud, I have trouble with the letter between K and M).
  2. Mary and I were going out for eight days before we got engaged. Mary phoned her mother after I proposed, and her first words back to Mary were “I didn’t think it would be long.”
  3. My first business was at age 12-13ish, when I would carry bags from the bus-stop to the classroom for wealthier boys. Sadly, I would spend the money in the tuck shop at morning break, so never really made a goer of the thing.
  4. Last year, I managed to have two car crashes in eight days. In both cases, I was doing zero miles per hour at the time, and the other party admitted liability for running into the back of me. Ironically, the second time, I was in the Morgan because the Bentley was in at the garage for an estimate for the previous week’s crash.
  5. I have a ludicrous number of computers at home – 3 laptops (1 Ubuntu, 1 Win2k, 1WinXP), 1 tablet, 1 desktop (Win2k), 3 servers (1 Win2k, 2 Ubuntu).
  6. I sing tenor at St. Nicholas, Worth, which is pre-Norman conquest. There are always gasps at wedding when the Rector reminds people that people have been getting married there for over 1,000 years.
  7. I didn’t get a driving licence until I was 34, and that at the insistence of Mary, who refused to drive me places when pregnant with our second child. To this day, and despite being an MSCC member and former BDC member, I have little interest in cars – that’s really Mary’s bag. (Though the Felix Dennis thing about being chauffered in Old Rolls Royces has an appeal.)
  8. I have 35 bookcases in the house, most of them Ikea Billy 202x80s, some of them double-stacked (one row of books in front of the other.) I’m not quite sure how many books we have, but I think it’s about 7-8,000.

I tag:

5 Responses to “Eight things which don’t make sense about me”

  1. Vics said

    I am officially jealous of your home if you have that many books!

  2. Eight Random Things That Don’t Make Sense

    What have you got me into – how can you write eight random things you wouldn’t normally write on your blog on a blog as random as this? Well at least I can manage the random part OK!
    1. My first full peel was of Superlative Surprise Major at Ss P…

  3. Wow.. it’s great that you can hear man..

  4. Really interesting post. You have a fascinating background!

  5. stuart said

    I was never confident that that operation worked.

Leave a Reply

 
